10 Tips to Good Grooming for the Working Lady

6088e0f354f02cb651bde27ab95890a7

No matter what your profession or occupation may be – a busy mother at home caring for little ones, or high-ranking metropolitan lawyer – each of you experience insufficient time in the morning.  Especially when it comes to taking care of oneself in the little acts like making sure your shoes are well shined or a thread needs cutting on your skirt.
So I encourage you whatever your profession is, to take a few moments in the morning to become an attractive and neat lady, by following these steps below.

1. A well-tended, pretty hairdo that is neat and sensible for the job.

2. Clear eyes, nicely shaped brows.

3. Clean teeth, ‘sweet mouth’.

4. Don’t forget the deodorant!  No odor offense please!

5. Keep a good manicure, well-shaped, clean nails.

6. Outfit to be spic and span, free of lint,  neatly pressed, practical and coordinated.

8. Look behind!  Take a double check of the back of your outfit before heading out the door.  Making sure seam is straight and slip is not drooping.

9. Polish and clean shoes, making sure no scuff marks be seen!

10.  In your lunch break, take a moment or two to freshen up: run a brush through your hair, a few sprits of perfume, and make sure skirt is sitting straight neat.

26 thoughts on “10 Tips to Good Grooming for the Working Lady

  1. Hello Clare :)

    Thank you for stopping by my blog!

    I am always interested in feminine etiquette and have enjoyed perusing Grace & Poise :)

    Looking forward to more articles!

    Blessings,
    Allison

  2. Clare –

    I stopped by your blog for the first time yesterday, and I was amazed! It made me so happy to see that – SOMEONE – is still trying to preserve ladylike-ism and etiquette. What happened to the days when mothers taught their daughters to be ladies and have good manners? Thanks so much for not allowing it to become a lost art! My only wish – write more! :)

    May God bless you richly!

    ~Nastya

    http://www.daughtersoflight.wordpress.com

    • Dear Nastya, Thank you for your delightful comment – it made my day! I do hope to be able to write more in the New Year, 2009 has been a challenging one for me!
      I look forward to seeing you back here again!

  3. This is perfect! I love it. Too many women that I work with skip so many of these steps, and it makes me want to slip into laziness sometimes too. I think sometimes there is a lack of motivation where we work to look good, but reading this reminded me that I AM a lady, and I want to look like one!

  4. Thanks for this post and your blog. I am re-discovering my feminine self and energy after repressing for a long time, due to my upbringing and location. I live in a place which has a very macho energy, and that effects the women very strongly. I believe if women step up and reclaim their femininity, then men will also step up and be their best, masculine selves. Keep up the blogs please.

    • I like your blog. Its nice to see a young woman writing such things and helping other reach a higher level of self esteem and confidence through your tips. I completed a training manual for men on how to become a gentleman of higher standards. I’m not working on a manual for women on how to become the lady she knows she is. View my blog on the American Gentleman.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts . . .

